March Notes 2020

I have to admit I’m excited about spring and and ashamed to admit I’m itching to get out with my shears and start clearing out the dead and making tidy paths with my mower. Of course I can’t do that because there is life in the dead and so I wait like a tied up dog. Meanwhile my mind is spinning with all kinds of things and sometimes it just seems to spin. I wrote an entire post about meadows which turned into kind of a rant so I deleted it. Yes, I do believe I’m ready for spring.

Life in the dead

My food beds are still covered in a blanket of leaves but soon I’ll be putting up the fence fortress and planting lettuce and peas. Soon I won’t be able to see the young holly and magnolia in the background.

It’s hard to believe so much life is coming with all the dead.

The pokeweed is all but deflated yet I sometimes catch a cardinal reaching for what’s left of the berries.

The grasses and left over milkweed pods.

Ivy-leaved speedwell can be used for tea.

The first annuals have arrived.

Hairy bittercress is supposedly healthy and delicious.

This year I’m determined to eat some of these fresh greens.

I’ve geminated my peppers and cherry tomatoes. And now I wait.

The song sparrow sings from this shrub every morning. I guess he is waiting too.

3 thoughts on “March Notes 2020”

Leave a comment