Winter

winter

I have such a love hate relationship with winter. Today was a somewhat cold day or what might be considered cold these days, cold, crisp and windy with dramatic purple and gray clouds. It was one of those days when I don’t want to go out but after I finally muster up a run just before the sun goes down, I realize just how awesome it is. The crisp air fills my lungs. The darkness, a blanket of intimacy closes comfortably in. Just me and the trees and the creek and the animals. After my run I’m warm. The blood runs through my veins. I slowly walk around my darkening garden accounting for everything I’ve planted. I see that it’s all there waiting for spring and the last robin’s chirp closes the day. It is times like these that I truly feel alive with hope.

Leave a Reply

